Chief of Staff-Onyx Lorenzoni-DEM

Minister of the Economy-Paulo Guedes

Minister of Science and Technology - Lieutenant Colonel (Ret.) Marcos Pontes

Minister of Justice and Public Security-Sérgio Moro

Minister of Agriculture-Tereza Cristina-DEM

Secretary of Institutional Security- General (Ret.) Augusto Heleno PEN

Minister of Defense- General (Ret.) Fernando Azevedo e Silva

Minister of Foreign Affairs-Ernesto Araújo

President of the Central Bank-Roberto Campos Neto

Minister of Transparency, Supervision and Control -,Captain (Ret.) Wagner de Campos Rosário

Minister of Health Lieutenant (Ret.) Luiz Henrique Mandetta-DEM

Attorney General of the Union-André Luiz de Almeida Mendonça

Secretary-General of the Presidency-Gustavo Bebianno PSL

Minister of Education=Ricardo Vélez Rodríguez

Secretary of Government Lieutenant General (Ret.) Santos Cruz

Minister of Infrastructure Captain (Ret.) Tarcísio Gomes de Freitas

Minister of Regional DevelopmentGustavo Henrique Rigodanzo Canuto

Minister of TourismMarcelo Álvaro Antônio-PSL

Minister of CitizenshipOsmar Terra-MDB

Minister of Mines and Energy Admiral Bento Costa Lima Leite de Albuquerque

Minister of Human Rights, Family and Women-Damares Alves

Minister of the Environment-Ricardo Salles-NOVO














The Federal Government of Brazil is the national government of the Federative Republic of Brazil, a Republic in South America divided in 26 states, and Federal district, which is the capital of Brazil-Brazilia

The Brazilian federal government is divided in three branches: the executive, which is headed by the President and the cabinet; the legislative, whose powers are vested by the Constitution in the National Congress; and the judiciary, whose powers are vested in the Supreme Federal Court and lower federal courts. The seat of the federal government is located in Brasília. This has led to "Brasília" commonly being used as a metonym for the federal government of Brazil.

Brazil is a federal presidential constitutional republic, which is based on a representative democracy. The federal government has three independent branches: executive, legislative, and judicial.

The Federal Constitution is the supreme law of Brazil. It is the foundation and source of the legal authority underlying the existence of Brazil and the federal government. It provides the framework for the organization of the Brazilian government and for the relationship of the federal government to the states, to citizens, and to all people within Brazil.

Executive power is exercised by the executive, headed by the President, advised by a Cabinet of Ministers. The President is both the head of state and the head of government. Legislative power is vested upon the National Congress, a two-chamber legislature comprising the Federal Senate and the Chamber of Deputies. Judicial power is exercised by the judiciary, consisting of the Supreme Federal Court, the Superior Court of Justice and other Superior Courts, the National Justice Council and the regional federal courts.


Executive Branch

President of the Republic

Jair Messias Bolsonaro-Social Liberal Party-January 1, 2019

Vice-President of the Republic

General Hamilton Mourão - Brazilian Labour Renewal Party,  January 1, 2019




























































Legislative Branch

The bicameral National Congress (Congresso Nacional) consists of

The Federal Senate (Senado Federal), which has 81 seats — three members from each States and the Federal District, elected according to the principle of majority to serve eight-year terms. One-third are elected after a four-year period, and two-thirds are elected after the next four-year period; and

The Chamber of Deputies (Câmara dos Deputados), which has 513 seats. Federal deputies are elected by proportional representation to serve four-year terms.

There are no limits on the number of terms one may serve for either chamber. The seats are allotted proportionally to each state's population, but each state is eligible for a minimum of eight seats and a maximum of 70 seats. The result is a system weighted in favor of smaller states that are part of the Brazilian federation.

Currently, 15 political parties are represented in Congress. Since it is common for politicians to switch parties, the proportion of congressional seats held by particular parties changes regularly. To avoid that, the Supreme Federal Court ruled in 2007 that the term belongs to the parties, and not to the representatives. 


Judicial Branch


Brazilian courts function under civil law adversarial system. The Judicial branch is organized in states' and federal systems with different jurisdictions.

The judges of the courts of first instance take office after public competitive examination. The second instance judges are promoted among the first instance judges. The Justices of the superior courts are appointed by the President for life and approved by the Senate. All the judges and justices must be graduated in law. Brazilian judges must retire at the age of 70.


Federal Judicial Branch

Superior Court of Justice

The national territory is divided into five Regions, which are composed of two or more states. Each region is divided in Judiciary Sections (Seções Judiciárias in Portuguese), coterminous with the territory of each state, and subdivided in Judiciary Subsections (Subseções Judiciárias), each with a territory that may not correspond to the states' comarcas.

The Judiciary subsections have federal courts of first instance and each Region has a Federal Regional Tribunal (Tribunal Regional Federal) as a court of second instance.

There are special federal court systems, such as Labour Court (Justiça do Trabalho) for labor or employment-related matters and disputes, Election Justice (Justiça Eleitoral) for electoral matters, and Military Justice (Justiça Militar) for martial criminal cases, each of them with its own courts.


Superior Courts

Supreme Federal Court

There are two national superior courts that grant writs of certiorari in civil and criminal cases: the Superior Justice Tribunal (Superior Tribunal de Justiça, STJ) and the federal supreme court, called the Supreme Federal Court (Portuguese: Supremo Tribunal Federal).

The STJ grants a Special Appeal (Recurso Especial) when a judgement of a court of second instance offends a federal statute disposition or when two or more second instance courts make different rulings on the same federal statute. There are parallel courts for labor law, electoral law and military law.

The STF grants Extraordinary Appeals (Recurso Extraordinário) when judgments of second instance courts violate the constitution. The STF is the last instance for the writ of habeas corpus and for reviews of judgments from the STJ.

The superior courts do not analyze any factual questions in their judgments, but only the application of the law and the constitution. Facts and evidences are judged by the courts of second instance, except in specific cases such as writs of habeas corpus.





















This website is created and hosted by Website.com's Site Builder.